Footstepsonmyheart’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Homestudy on its way! :)

Posted by footstepsonmyheart on October 17, 2008

YEA! So I’ve been letting go of trying to control Emmas adoption journey like I did with Everetts. The truth is this is totally out of my hands and I have no control so why worry about it when there is nothing I can do about it? I try to get things moving or think frustrated thoughts that nothing is happening and its moving slow as molassas. But I am helpless to actually do anything about it. My mom is the one who really drove this home with me. A few weeks ago it looked as if we would not be finalizing Everett’s adoption for several more months. It should have worked out that way-we shouldn’t have been given the gift of our early finalization. After dumping my frustrations on my mom for only the 100th time she told me that there was nothing I could do and I needed to pray. Got off of the phone with mom, said a powerful prayer with Everett and that was the day that I FINALLY got a callf rom our SW and everything fell into place-exactly how I asked for it to :).   My entire life I have found power in prayer. I don’t normally talk about it because it is very personal. I do feel God talking to me at times, usually in whispers and often through other people.

So last night instead of watching ER, and after watching the office (the absolute FUNNIEST office opening EVER!!!), I decided to pray. I prayed that our homestudy SW would find the time to complete our homestudy, that the agency would be able to get things squared on their end with our background/criminal history check, and that by the end of October we could be ready to find our baby Emma. This morning before my girls left for school I stopped them as they were running out the door to meet the bus and we said a prayer. I asked for the same things. Just got back from play group and guess what!??? She emailed me to let me know she is almost done with our homestudy. She has been working with the social worker at the agency to make sure it contains all that they need :)!!! I am thrilled. I truly beleive in the power of prayer. I try to make sure but I keep forgetting to turn it over to a higher power and let go. Letting go, letting go.

I have waited 2 weeks to hear from our homestudy SW, its been a long and hard 2 weeks for me, when it comes to this stuff I may be one of the most impatient people in the world. Initially she hesitated to do a homestudy update for us but after talking with us she undesrtood and liked what we wanted to do as a family and said she would make time for us. We knew that it would take more time for her to complete our homestudy right from the get go-she was very clear about that. She is the ONLY private homestudy worker in our local area, we would have spent a fortune with anyone else and I appreciate her willingness to go out of her way to do this for us. In addition to that she ‘gets’ our family and I really like her as a human being which doesn’t always happen with a social worker.  She is not being unprofessional, want to make that clear. But still it was frustrating and I’ve been worried.

Some pictures of Mikayla-because she’s adorble! On her 12th birthday-her fave milk duds and signiture “stars”purse, fireworks at Grandma and Grandpas, horse riding-cowgirl style, and girls camp. Yes she can hold that pose for awhile-thank you gymnastics!

Leave a comment